Education in the Alberni Valley

Posted by Dave Koszegi on Thursday, July 12th, 2018 at 3:14pm.

School might be out for summer… but our students here in the Alberni Valley receive an education for a lifetime!

Situated on Vancouver Island’s Central West Coast, the Alberni School District 70 serves about 3800 learners in the communities of Port Alberni, Tofino, Ucluelet and Bamfield. Proudly residing on the traditional territories of Nuu-chah-nulth First Nations, the district embraces the integration of their culture, history, and language within all of our schools.

“Always learning -  Apprendre, toujourst - `akaasʔaqƛin huḥtaqšiiḥ”

The district offers eight elementary schools (Grades K-7), two secondary schools (Grades 8-12), one elementary-junior secondary school (Grades K-9), one alternate school (Eighth Avenue Learning Centre), and the CHOICES Distributed Learning program to support home schooled students.

Port Alberni’s new state-of-the-art high school, Alberni District Secondary School just opened doors to students in 2012.

"This state-of-the-art new school is one of the most impressive in the province, and its proximity to North Island College allows students to take advantage of an almost unlimited range of skills and trades training opportunities.” Don McRae, Minister of Education

Our Alberni Elementary and Alberni District Secondary schools offer Early French Immersion as an optional program.

Education doesn’t start and stop at the elementary and secondary school levels; the school district also works closely with our community partners to provide support for early learning and adult education. An Early Years Centre at EJ Dunn Elementary has been opened, and the Eighth Avenue Learning Centre provide services to adult learners working towards their high school graduation.

Furthermore, the school district works closely with North island College as well as many more post-secondary institutions; ensuring our students are set for a lifetime of educational success.

(School District 70) 

​A.W. Neill Elementary School K-7

5055 Compton Rd, Port Alberni BC V9Y 7B5

250.723.8151  250.723.5997 f

Co-Principal - Ron Behnke rbehnke@sd70.bc.ca

Co-Principal - Darrin Olson dolson@sd70.bc.ca

École Alberni Elementary K-7

4645 Helen Street, Port Alberni BC V9Y 6P6

250.724.0623  250.724.0600 f

Principal - Laurie Morphet lmorphet@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Marc Fryer mfryer@sd70.bc.ca

​E. J. Dunn Elementary School K-7

3500 Argyle St, Port Alberni BC V9Y 3A8

250.723.7522  250.723.7557 f

Principal - Stacey Manson smanson@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Maghen Girard mgirard@sd70.bc.ca

Bamfield Community School K-12

Gen Del 240 Nuhatch Rd, Bamfield BC V0R 1B0

250.728.3352  250.728.3350 f

Community School Coordinator

Principal - Dave Maher dmaher@sd70.bc.ca

bcsacoordinator@gmail.com

​John Howitt Elementary School K-7

3867 Marpole St, Port Alberni BC V9Y 6Y3

250.723.7521  250.723.1674 f

Principal - Steve Brown sbrown@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Heidi Homan hhoman@sd70.bc.ca

​Maquinna Elementary School K-7

3881 Bruce St, Port Alberni BC V9Y 1J6

250.724.0512  250.724.0513 f

Principal - Darrin Homan dhoman@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Julie Dawson jdawson@sd70.bc.ca

​Ucluelet Elementary School K-7

Box 669 1350 Peninsula Rd Ucluelet, BC V0R 3A0

250.726.7793  250.726.27323 f

Principal - Jaime Hansen jhansen@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Teresa Cameron tcameron@sd70.bc.ca

Wickaninnish Community School K-7

Box 220 431 Gibson Rd Tofino, BC V0R 2Z0

250.725.3254  250.725.3264 f

Principal - Drew Ryan dryan@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Dani Shannon dmclane@sd70.bc.ca

swalker@sd70.bc.ca

Wood Elementary School K-7

4111 Wood Ave, Port Alberni BC V9Y 5E8

250.724.1132  250.724.1363 f

Principal -  James Messenger jmessenger@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal -  Jayne Chase jchase@sd70.bc.ca

Alberni District Secondary School 8-12

4000 Roger St, Port Alberni BC V9Y 0B1

250.723.6251  250.723.2126 f

Community School Coordinator

Principal - Rob Souther rsouther@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Carl Poole cpoole@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Nick Seredick nseredick@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Jeanette Badovinac jbadovinac@sd70.bc.ca

Cathy Cross -ccross@sd70.bc.ca

Ucluelet Secondary School 8-12

Box 40 1450 Peninsula Rd, Ucluelet BC V0R 3A0

250.726.7796  250.726.7710 f

Principal - Carol Sedgwick csedgwick@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Mike Rhodes mrhodes@sd70.bc.ca

Eighth Avenue Learning Centre: VAST Centre and CHOICES DL

2941 8th Ave, Port Alberni BC V9Y 2K5

250.723.3744  250.723.3711 f

Principal - Sean Petersen spetersen@sd70.bc.ca

Vice Principal - Julie Anderson janderson@sd70.bc.ca 

School District 93 (Francophone)

Grands-cèdres school / École des Grands-cèdres 

5100 Tebo Avenue Port Alberni, BC V9Y 5Y6

250-723-5614

Director: Johan Couttenier 

johan_couttenier@csf.bc.ca

If you’d like information on neighbourhoods, school catchments and any homes for sale in those areas - please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Thanks for reading!

 

The Dave Team







Leave a Comment

Format example: you@domain.com
Format example: yourwebsitename.com

Sign up for email updates